Thirsty

First of all, I’m not much of a blogger or writer, but thought I would share the experience I had this morning.

I woke up with extreme thirst.  I am not exaggerating when I say that my tongue was stuck to the roof of my mouth, almost to a painful state.  Needless to say, the first thing that crossed my mind this morning was “water and lots of it”.  As I make my way to the kitchen sink, my thirst begins to grow stronger and stronger. When I turn on the faucet, my mouth grows even dryer and then my thirst turns into a longing…I’ve got to have it!  And I’ve got to have it now!  I am now longing to drink this water so bad that nothing will stand in my way at this point.

As I fill my entire cup with water, I begin to drink and drink and drink.  I fill the cup again and I drink and drink and drink.  And you know the sound you make when you have finally quenched your thirst?   A long “Ahhhhh…a thirst ( a longing) well satisfied.

As I was standing there looking out the kitchen window, it’s like something in my Spirit spoke to me and said, do you ever get that thirsty for Jesus and Spiritual things?  And, of course, we like to think that we do.  But when I began truly examining myself this morning, I found myself on my knees.  I began to cry out to God and ask Him to show me “myself”.  Lord, am I truly thirsty for “YOU”?  When I wake up in the morning, do I  ache for Your word, do I have a “longing” to get in my prayer closet, to spend intimate time with you?

It’s so easy to confuse our “works” and our “Christian service” with a relationship with Him; but it does not even compare.  We tend to believe that service and sacrifice will make us Holy.  If we can just do enough for God, and give enough to God, then God will be happy with us and a relationship will just magically develop. It doesn’t happen that way.

The way to holiness is Jesus.  Service and sacrifice are important, but they are not the root. The root of it all is Jesus and a “true relationship with Him”.

God longs for us to have intimacy with him.  The scripture says in John 7:37 -“If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.”  He wants us to ‘come” to Him.  Not work for Him
from a distance, but “come”.

After praying, I began to study a little on “true thirst and finding God”.  I found this illustration and it has opened my eyes today:

The story is told of a young
student who went to his spiritual teacher and asked the question,
“Teacher, how can I truly find God?”  The teacher asked the
student to accompany him to the river which ran by the village and invited him
to go into the water.  When they got to the middle of the stream, the
teacher said, “Please immerse yourself into the water.” The student
did as he was instructed, whereupon the teacher put his hands on the young
man’s head and held him under the water.  Presently the student began to
struggle.   The master held him under still.  A moment passed and the
student was thrashing and beating the water and air with his arms. Still, the
master held him under the water.
Finally, the student was released and shot up from the water, lungs
aching and gasping for air.  The teacher waited for a few moments and then
said, “When you desire
God as truly as you desired to breathe the air you just breathed — then you
shall find God.”

God,
help me to desire You much more than I desired a drink of water this morning.  May a thirst develop inside of me “for You” ;  and the closer I get to you, the more the thirst turns into a longing and nothing can stand in the way of my getting to you; and Lord when my cup has been filled, let me drink it and then fill it up again Lord, and I will drink and drink and drink.  May it be a never-ending thirst until I see Your face! God, help me lead others to this water!  Let them see You inside of me to the point that when they are in my presence, their tongue begins to stick to the roof of their mouth and they are drawn to this “Living water” that only you can provide!   A thirst that can only be
quenched when we come to You; for You, O Lord, provide us with living water, a spiritual satisfaction, a spiritual contentment that we cannot find anywhere else!

Amen

Are you thirsty?  May God develop a thirst in You today “for Him”!

Thanks for listening. 

Rhonda P.

Leave a Reply

