Another step on the journey. . . .

 

But blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear.

Matthew 13:16 

My Prayer

   “Lord I pray for my eyes & ears to be blessed. Make my eyes alert and ever on your Holy Spirit so I don’t miss what you are doing in my life and in your Church.  I need my ears to be tuned into your voice so that no matter what’s going on around me in the physical, I can hear your softest whisper. I pray that you would bless me as you did Daniel and that light and understanding and excellent wisdom is found in me, (Daniel 5:14). Give to me a wise and an understanding heart as you gave King Solomon, (1Kings 3:12b). My desire is to be better equipped to serve you and your Church. Hear my prayer and bless your servant if it is your will and for your glory.” Amen.

Trying to stay in step on my journey.

 

   I don’t consider myself the smartest person in the world, (or the dumbest either) but I came to the conclusion years ago that if I applied myself and really gave 100% with my mind & body, there wasn’t much I couldn’t do. I’ve approached my Christian walk along that same line of thinking. I believe the Word when it tells me I should renew my mind daily by the reading of the Word. If I do this I will have the mind of Christ. I believe the Holy Spirit is my Guide and Comforter and He will lead me in all truth. So, I pray for His guidance daily and for 90% of the time, I feel like I’m on the right track. 

   Then there’s that 10% of the time when I miss His will and, or I didn’t understand the true meaning of His Word. I’m ashamed to say it, but sometimes I miss the mark. Now I ‘m not talking about doing things I know are wrong, I always strive to do the right thing these days. I’m talking about my inability to see and hear clearly His will for my life and to have understanding of what He wants me to know. Does my cup have a full measure, pressed down and shaken together? Can I even achieve this? For the last year the Holy Spirit has told me not to stray to the left or to the right, but to stay on the path He has laid out for me. For the last month He has said for me not to take a step without seeking His will. That’s been my daily focus and I’m going through an awesome season in my life of really hearing from God and feeling his presence.

   Last Monday night as I was studying the Word before I went to bed, I was reading Matthew 16:13-23. I thought I knew this passage well, when Jesus changes Simon’s name to Peter, meaning petros or rock. Then Jesus says that on this rock I will build my Church and the gates of Hades will not overcome it. Now I’ve always thought Jesus was saying Peter was going to be the head of the Church. I mean, He changes the guy’s name to Rock and says He’ll build His Church on it. You can read Ephesians 2:20 and it indicates that the Church is built on the foundation of the apostles & prophets with Jesus as the Chief Cornerstone, so I thought I was on target.

   As I was meditating on this scripture the Holy Spirit showed me something I’d been missing. Just as the Holy Spirit had shown Peter that Jesus was the Christ, “the son of the living God,” He showed me that Jesus was referring to Himself in this scripture. Jesus is the Rock the Church was going to be built on, not Peter. Jesus is the only one who has the power over death, not Peter. Jesus is the Chief Capstone the builders rejected, (Psalm 118:22) not Peter. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, (Psalm 18:2) not Peter. Peter was inspired by God to recognize Jesus as the Christ, he was even given the power to bind and loose, but he isn’t the Rock of our salvation.

   You’re probably saying to yourself, Dude, (as P.T. would say) everybody knows Jesus is the Rock, I know that also. My point is that in that scripture even with all the other scriptures I’ve read, I missed that Jesus was referring to Himself and not Peter. The reason I missed it was because he changed Simon’s name to Peter, (Petros or Rock) and Peter was the head of the Church, so it made sense to me. That’s why most of my adult life I thought that if I followed close enough to what the Pastor taught and worked hard in the Church it would make me a good Christian. I really believed and prayed that God would see all my efforts and appoint me His man. I thought I could become His “Moses”, so to speak. Thank God for his wisdom or my pride would have sunk my ship before it got to the water. I mean, look at Peter, only 5 scriptures later in verse 23 Jesus says to him, “the devil’s in you, you’re trying to trip me up with the desires of your flesh. I doubt I would have made it a half verse, had it been me.

   Here’s where I’m trying to go with all this, if I’m not in the Word studying and asking the Holy Spirit for His revelation, and if I’m not praying and asking direction from the Holy Spirit in every area of my life, I will miss it. It’s scary to know that I don’t have to miss it by much to cause me to step to the right or the left and get into the flesh and off track. One moment we can have heavenly revelation, the next, be in our flesh. For me to have a blessed life I need to seek His will and plan, even through He can turn any circumstance around for my good. I have to trust His guidance, I must have faith in His will for my life, and believe that He loves me. As I move forward on my journey, I must have fear and respect for the Lord and love Him with all my heart, so I can know my errors, discover my hidden faults, and keep myself from any willful sin. Then, He will bless me and use me for His glory.

“May the words of my mouth

and the meditation of my heart

be pleasing in your sight,

O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

Psalm 19:14

Your servant in Christ,

Tony B.

One thought on “Another step on the journey. . . .

  1. Thank you so much for this post it was so encouraging to me and I do feel as though God has been leading me to be in my word so much more in these times. His word will always lead and guide us and has all answers. We have recently started attending Journey church and it is truely a blessing to feel his Holy Ghost in every single service and we are looking forward to helping to lead this community to CHRIST

Leave a Reply

